3 Favourite Sunsets of Mine

I love sunsets til the extent that they are a quintessential part of my travels! Observing how the sun casts an orangey glow onto a foreign scenery – be it buildings, lakes or mountains – is always magical. It envelops me in a moment of mystique, resulting in me feeling almost ‘zen-like’ and at one with the world.

Recollecting on the sunsets I witnessed during my travels, these 3 especially stood out:

1.  Mount Fløyen, Bergen 

Sunset from Mount Fløyen, Bergen

Sunset from Mount Fløyen, Bergen

I was already in a euphoric state of mind from visiting the magnificent Bergen fjords the day before. Adding to that, I rode a funicular for the first time to get to the top of Mount Fløyen. Seeing this gorgeous sunset over the lovely city of Bergen was the final icing on the cake! Hence, it is no surprise that this sunset appeared first on my list. Oh – and given the high cost of living in Norway – it was particularly satisfying to sip our orange juice costing 10 Norwegian Krone that we bought at the supermarket, while waiting for the sun to set :)

2.  Sunset Cliffs, San Diego

Sunset at Sunset Cliffs, San Diego

Sunset Cliffs, San Diego

For a location that has ‘sunset’ in its name, the sunset has to be spectacular, yea? The clear view of the sun setting in the horizon over the vast expanse of sea ranks this sunset at #2 on my list. The entire day was a relaxing one: wandering around the quiet Point Loma neighbourhood, chilling at the beach, listening to music for 2 hours while lost in thoughts and witnessing this fantastic sunset. My idea of a perfect day :)

3.  Oia, Santorini

Sunset at Oia, Santorini

Widely acclaimed as the “best sunset in the world”, Oia makes my list at #3. Living up to its namesake is always challenging, given all the hype and expectations you have prior to witnessing the sunset itself. Maybe not as good as I expected it to be, but this should not detract from the actual sight itself: an unobstructed view of the sun setting over the picturesque blue domes and whitewashed walls of Santorini :) Oh, and although I generally hate hustling with the crowd, it is somewhat special to share the congested space with the hordes of tourists in this case. It makes you (or at least, me) feel that you’re truly seeing the “best sunset in the world”!

4.  Dom Luís I Bridge, Porto

Douro River, Porto

“Can you not count? Why is there a #4?” Sorry, but I just could not remove this sunset (or any one of those above) from the list due to sentimental reasons! As I constantly expounded in articles before, the 6 months spent in Europe for a student exchange semester was the best period in my life. This sunset at Porto was my very last sunset in Europe before I flew home to Singapore. And just like how a sunset marks the end of the day, this very sunset also marked the closure of a beautiful chapter in my life. So very poignant :)

4 thoughts on “3 Favourite Sunsets of Mine”

Leave a Reply

